How to win against stronger team, away? Counter attack them. I won my ML game with Southampton at Man Utd 2-0.

But, why should you be interested in this? Because maybe I’ll give you an idea how to counter attack more productively. So, here are the goals. Unfortunately, you can’t see the beggining of the actions which are the key and the most important thing I wanted to share with you: my defence had the ball and I was passing it around very close to my goalkeeper to attract their players. When they pressured my defence, I gave the ball to my full back, then fast to my winger. First goal was scored when my winger cut in and shooted. For the second one, I had one more pass – high through ball from a winger to attacker.

Tactics: I used counter attack tactic with a deep defence, many players in the defence and few in the attack. I usually ignore mark settings because they don’t seem to do much for me. I’ve set my passing to long with attacking through flanks (wide). My team’s pressure was containted and my front line wasn’t pressuring their defence.

The game: I scored in the first half and looked for another opportunity from the counter attack, but mainly tried to defend my goal. And pretty successful. In the 70th minute I substituted my attacking midfielder for a defender and played with 5 in the back line for the rest of the game. Luckily, I scored a few minutes later.

